Posted by on 14. Dezember 2020

The extension of the PICTA agreement to trade in services and temporary migration of workers has been underway since March 2008. After seven rounds of negotiations, the picta protocol was submitted for ratification on 28 August 2012 for a one-year period. To date, the agreement has been signed by nine countries, including the Cook Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. However, the „service protocol“ does not take into account the different economic situations facing Pacific Island States. It is therefore not in line with the framework of the general agreement on goods and services; External technical expertise seems essential to assist FDP members in their transition to free trade. In addition, PICTA has negotiations with Australia and New Zealand on the extension of the free trade area. It should lead to better consumer protection in island economies in order to create jobs. The establishment of this regional market aims to increase foreign direct investment in remote Pacific islands. The ability to reach a harmonized market of 7 million people can encourage investors. The regions and countries targeted by the Secretary of the Pacific Islands Forum and the Intra-ACP Migration Facility: Samoa, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Kiribati, host of the Pacific Islands Forum and the Intra-ACP Migration Facility, had the opportunity to exchange questions and experiences related to intra-regional labour mobility and to decide on the next steps in negotiating a regional programme mobility (the temporary movement of individuals as part of the PICTA negotiations). decent work, employment, youth employment, minimum wage, low wages, youth, Pacific.