Posted by on 17. September 2021

Representatives of the Kashmir government debated with indian government representatives and agreed on an agreement to approve the main decisions of the J&K Constituent Assembly. This agreement was later known as the Delhi Agreement, 1952. The main features of this agreement were as follows: among the prisoners of war, 195 Pakistani military officers detained in India were identified as the main suspects of war crimes. Pakistan insisted that they be released as one of its main demands. It urged several Muslim countries to hold back bangladesh`s recognition until the 195 officers were released. [7] India supported his repatriation to Pakistan. In the text of the agreement, Kamal Hossain, Bangladesh`s foreign minister, said: „The Delhi Agreement“ was signed in 1952 between Sheikh Abdullah, then Prime Minister of Jammu and Kashmir, and the Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru. The agreement extended Indian citizenship to the „state subjects“ of Jammu and Kashmir. After the unrest in Delhi in 1952, the famous „Article 35A“ was enshrined in the Constitution in 1954.

there was full agreement on the position of Sadar-i-Riyasat; Although sadar-i-Riyasat was elected by the state legislature, it had to be recognized as such by the President of India before being sworn in; in other Indian States, the Head of State was appointed by the President and, as such, was his candidate, but the person to be appointed as head had to be a person acceptable to the Government of that State; no person who is not acceptable to the Land Government may be imposed on the State as head. In the case of Kashmir, the only difference is that Sadar-i-Riyasat is elected primarily by the legislative branch of the state itself, instead of being a candidate of the government and the president of India. With regard to the powers and functions of Sadar-i-Riyasat, it was mutually agreed that Article 370 was enshrined in the Indian Constitution following the signing of the agreement between former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru and Maharaja Hari Singh of Jammu Kashmir. Although the agreement required the repatriation of Urdu-speaking Biharis to Bangladesh, the Pakistani Government withdrew its promise to establish the Community in Pakistan. [6] This is where the stranded stateless Pakistani community in Bangladesh was born. The Delhi Agreement was a trilateral agreement signed on 28 August 1973 between India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. and has been ratified only by India and Pakistan. [1] It allowed the repatriation of prisoners of war and interned officials detained in the three countries after the Bangladesh Liberation War in 1971. The deal has been criticized because Pakistan failed to bring Urdu spokesmen back to Bangladesh and did not hold accountable 195 senior military officials accused of violating behavior during the war. [2] The contract came into effect on August 8, 1973 and ended on July 1, 1974. As part of the agreement, UNHCR monitored the repatriation of citizens from Bangladesh and Pakistan. According to the UN, 121,695 Bengals have been relocated from Pakistan to Bangladesh.

These included senior Bengali officials and military officers. 108,744 non-Bengali civilians and civil servants were transferred from Bangladesh to Pakistan. [4] India released 6500 Pakistani prisoners, most of them transported by train to Pakistan. [5] In 1974, General Niazi was the last Pakistani officer to be symbolically returned across the Wagah border. [4] The President has taken over Article 35A and the parliamentary route of legislation is bypassed. On the other hand, if we see that Article 368 (i) of the Constitution only authorizes Parliament to amend the Constitution. So did the president act outside his jurisdiction? · With the exception of a few, almost every component of Kashmir society has expressed opposition to NC`s demand for greater autonomy.. . . .